Our Curriculum

In Nursery and Reception we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. There are seven areas of learning and development that shape this curriculum and are interwoven through everything we do. Please see the curriculum tab for more information.


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Helping children to develop positive relationships, social skills and learn about their feelings and behaviour. 


Physical Development

Being active to develop muscle strength, co-ordination and control in large and small movements. Also beginning to understand the importance of physical activity and making healthy eating choices.


Communication and Language Development

Giving children opportunities to explore a communication rich environment where they can build their confidence and skills when expressing themselves.  Children also develop the ability to listen and respond appropriately in a range of situations.



Building children’s awareness of sounds before linking them to letters and beginning to read and write. We do this through providing access to a wide range of reading and mark-making materials, both indoors and outdoors, to ignite their interest and through taught Phonics and Literacy sessions.



Providing children with opportunities to develop their skills in counting, understanding and using number. Children will build their knowledge and use of mathematical vocabulary both with number and also when describing shapes, space and measures.


Understanding the World

Guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.


Expressive Arts and Design

Enabling children to experience and use a wide range of media and materials. We also provide opportunities to share our thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design and technology.